Adopted Meeting Dates & Holidays

2020 Board of Supervisors Meeting Dates

All County residents are hereby encouraged to attend public meetings of the Franklin County Board of Supervisors. To facilitate this public participation, the Board will meet on the following dates and times in 2020:

  • January 21, 2020 at 1:30 pm
  • February 18, 2020 at 1:30 pm
  • March 17, 2020 at 1:30 pm
  • April 21, 2020 at 1:30 pm
  • May 19, 2020 at 1:30 pm
  • June 16, 2020 at 1:30 pm
  • July 21, 2020 at 1:30 pm
  • August 18, 2020 at 1:30 pm
  • September 15, 2020 at 1:30 pm
  • October 20, 2020 at 1:30 pm
  • November 17, 2020 at 1:30 pm
  • December 15, 2020 at 1:30 pm

All meetings will be held in the Board Room at the:
Government Center
1255 Franklin Street
Suite 104
Rocky Mount, VA 24151

Public Participation

All public hearings will be held at 6 pm for the convenience of the public. All interested parties are encouraged to attend. Any person with a disability who needs accommodations to fully participate in these public hearings should notify Madeline L. Sefcik, Clerk, by calling 540-483-3032 at least 7 days prior to the meetings.

Cancellations & Rescheduling

Regular meetings of the Board may be continued to the following business day, if the Chairman or Vice-Chairman is unable to act or finds and declares that weather or other conditions are such that it is hazardous for members to attend the meeting. Such finding shall be communicated to the members and the press as promptly as possible. All hearings and other matters previously advertised for such meeting shall be conducted at the continued meeting and no further advertisement is required.

Adopted Holidays

During the Franklin County Board of Supervisor’s Organizational Meeting, the Board adopted the 2020 State of Virginia’s legal holidays, plus any changes made by the Governor during the year for State employees. The following list is found in the Code of Virginia, Section 2.2-3300:

  • Friday, January 17, 2020
  • Monday, January 20, 2020
  • Monday, February 17, 2020
  • Monday, May 25, 2020
  • Friday, June 19, 2020
  • Friday, July 3, 2020
  • Monday, September 7, 2020
  • Monday, October 12, 2020
  • Wednesday, November 11, 2020
  • Wednesday, November 25, 2020 (closing at noon)
  • Thursday, November 26, 2020
  • Friday, November 27, 2020
  • Thursday, December 24, 2020
  • Friday, December 25, 2020
  • Friday, January 1, 2021